Pipe Band Drumming Inspiration

One of the most valuable educational resources for pipe band drumming has to be YouTube.  In the past 5 years, Pipe band YouTube clips have increased in popularity and frequency.

I have to admit, back when I was a young lad in the late 1990’s , I would have given anything to access a resource like YouTube. I recall walking around the contest park with an old cassette recorder. I’d bring 5 cassette tapes with me and record as much as possible in audio format. These recordings were extremely valuable to me and shaped my learning hugely.  Recordings of the SFU drum corps, RUC drum corps, the Field Marshal Montgomery drum corps and of course Jim Kilpatrick’s, Shotts and Dykehead drum corps were amongst my favourites.

I developed a passion for transcribing the recordings, or at least the most intriguing ones. The Northern Ireland Piping and Drumming School provided me with the skills and knowledge to listen to the music and put it down on paper, I have Sam and Gavin Bailie to thank for that.

Listening to the cassette recordings allowed me to hear the passion and expression in the music.  I clearly couldn’t play the stuff but I certainly made an attempt at it and that process certainly shaped my direction in terms of musicality.

Pipe Band Drummers have an AMAZING resource at their fingertips now – YOUTUBE!

There are literally 100’s of pipe band drumming videos, scottish drumming clips and all sorts of demos.  Just type in pipe band drumming, and you will be blown away with the top quality resources.  Simply watching these clips will provide you with top notch passive sub-conscious learning.  Just looking and listening will help you to develop your pipe band drumming skills.

I have to recommend a few specific scottish drumming videos that I believe will help you to develop your skills.

Jim Kilpatrick – http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2RzQMT1lt1E

Tyler Fry – http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DMCdzG6sCyE

Andrew Scullion – http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EqJ20GNK8lA

Shotts and Dykehead Caledonia Drum Corps – http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kpy8Tg1P5uY

If you take a look at the pipe band drumming clips above, and decide you can’t learn anything then I suggest you question yourself! I personally learn something new every time I watch Jim Kilpatrick perform!

Use this great FREE pipe band drumming resource, and learn from the best!

Happy Drumming.

James Laughlin

www.come2drum.com

Leave a Reply

